25th May 2018

IACA Award for Best New Currency Innovation

The International Association of Currency Affairs (IACA), a non-profit association of central banks, finance ministries, mints and suppliers, awarded Crane Currency with the Best New Currency Innovation award during the Banknote Conference 2018 in Dallas. The award was for the company’s latest security feature innovation, MOTION SURFACE®.

Annemarie Watson, President at Crane Currency, accepted the award in front of a ballroom of over 700 delegates. After the ceremony, she took time to acknowledge the bold leadership of the National Bank of the Kyrgyz Republic (NBKR) which was the first central bank to select and issue a banknote featuring MOTION SURFACE.

The 2000 Som was issued on November 17, 2017 to commemorate the 25 year anniversary of the independence of the Kyrgyz Republic and the establishment of its national currency.


Pictured above (left to right): Tom Ferguson, IACA; Annemarie Watson, President, Crane Currency; Dana Saifullina, Head of Expert Division, NBKR; Tolkunbek Abdygulov, Governor, NBKR; Genie Foster, IACA.